Punk in the 1970s - I'm a lazy student, but I need your help

Other non Stranglers stuff here

Moderator: StanInBlack

Alana
SHAKESPEARO

Post by Alana »

I don't know if James has mentioned this or if it's in the right place, but you can move it wherever later.

I have to do an essay on a political or social movement of my choice. I thought it'd be good to do it on punk, there is one book in my university library on the subject and google yields about a million pages of utter shit.

So, I was wondering if any of you lovely people could help me and just make lists of stuff that happened that was important to punk as a social movement, any thoughts on why people became punks, any books that would be any good, anything you want to contribute really and if you really want apply it some sociological theory.

As much as I'd like to do a musical review of it all, I have to stay within the social side of it all, but I'd be interested to read about anything to do with it really.

Thank you!
theraven1979
Maninwhite
Maninwhite

Post by theraven1979 »

Significant events around the time of punk I guess - High unemployment? "Labour Isn`t Working"? etc? What the fuck do I know I was only 2 at the time. Can anyone help?

Cheers

Jim (also known as James) :D
"I bathed in sun and walked in rain
It taught me how to laugh again"
Alana
SHAKESPEARO

Post by Alana »

Specific events would be quite helpful.

You know how like the mods and rockers went down to Brighton? I need the same sort of thing but with punks instead. Stuff that involved the media getting all upset is good
theraven1979
Maninwhite
Maninwhite

Post by theraven1979 »

What`s the purpose of the essay? Is it to see what effects punk had on society?

Jim
Alana
SHAKESPEARO

Post by Alana »

Well it's to give a general descriptive outline of what was going on, major events, who was doing it, why they were doing it - all relating it to some sort of theory (like moral panics, self fulfilling prophecies, youth culture)