Greetings from Texas~

If you`re new to the site post in here and we`ll say hello! - Also if you haven`t posted in the last 3 months post here to keep your account alive - otherwise it will be removed.
Americanstrangler
Down In The Sewer

Greetings from Texas~

Post by Americanstrangler »

I don't see many fans here from the USA, but I guess that's not surprising since The Stranglers never toured America. Anyway, I would like to introduce myself and tell you my "Stranglers Story"- my name is Tracy and I've been listening to The Stranglers since 1977- I bought their first album as a 13 yr old and I had to order it from the back of a magazine, because it was an import. The Stranglers weren't played in the night clubs here, so none of my friends even knew who the band was, and many still don't. I had the opportunity to see and meet Hugh Cornwell a few months ago when he played a club a longtime friend of mine owns in Houston, Texas called #'s. I never knew that the other band members were still together and performing, until Hugh announced it onstage! When I got home, I searched the internet and I was pleased to see that the other members were recording and had what appeared to be a huge fan base in Europe.

One night as I was browsing the band's Facebook page, I saw the information posted for their current tour dates. I noticed that they were playing Paris on my birthday, so I jokingly told my husband, "The Stranglers are playing in Paris on my BIRTHDAY! Wouldn't that be the best birthday present EVER?!" We then both laughed about it. Can you imagine my surprise when my husband told me a few months later to start making the arrangements to see the band in Paris for my birthday? My husband is also a Stranglers Fan, but he was introduced to the band's music thru me, and that' not the same as discovering it as a kid on your own in 1977. He knows how much I've always wanted to see The Stranglers, but never had the opportunity, so this is a chance of a lifetime for me!